Vaughan Memorial Library

Acadia Reads

The Acadia Reads initiative encourages the Acadia community to share their love of books by reading Scott Fotheringham’s The Rest Is Silence and participating in programming surrounding the book.

Programming & Events

How did we decide whose story to tell? The Campus Community voted for the book that Acadia Reads from a shortlist. The closing date for voting was April 15th, 2019 at midnight.

Programming & Events

Multi-disciplinary Panel & Discussion
November 20th, 6:30 pm @ David Huestis Innovation Pavilion Classroom (INN 173)

Discover how The Rest Is Silence stimulates a variety of perspectives and responses through the lens of each panelist’s experience and knowledge.

Click for Details

Landscapes and Art with Emily Clark
December 11th, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm @ Quiet Reading Room of the Vaughan Memorial Library

Join local artist Emily Clark in a hands-on art workshop that will explore concepts and landscapes present in Scott Fotheringham’s novel, The Rest is Silence.

Click for Details

Reading Into It? Facilitated Discussion
February 26th, 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm @ Quiet Reading Room of the Vaughan Memorial Library

Perhaps you’ve already dipped into Scott Fotheringham’s The Rest Is Silence? Perhaps you’re seeking inspiration to read the book? Join us to talk about, listen, or reflect upon Scott Fotheringham’s The Rest Is Silence.

Click for Details

Author Reading & Presentation: Scott Fotheringham
March 4th, 7:00pm @ K.C. Irving Environmental Science Centre

Join Scott Fotheringham for a book reading and signing of his debut novel The Rest Is Silence. His novel is shortlisted for the First Novel Award, the Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award, and the Ottawa Book Award.

Click for Details

Contest Winner

English undergraduate student, Jade Veinotte was the winner of an Amazon gift card and a book of her choice from the 2019 shortlist. Jade selected Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

Selection Committee

  • Makenzie Branch – ASU Vice-President Academic 2018-19
  • Suzie Currie – Dean of Pure and Applied Sciences
  • Abu Kamara – Coordinator Accessible Learning Services
  • Anthony Pash – Librarian in Professional Studies and Faculty of Theology
  • Danielle Pierce – Instructional Designer, Learning Technology and Instructional Design
  • J. Coplen Rose – Professor of English Literature
  • Ann Smith (Chair) – Librarian in Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences
  • Britanie Wentzell – Librarian in Faculty of Arts and Faculty of Professional Studies

The Shortlist